top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureECCO

Alumni Spotlight: Ali Brown


Name? Ali Brown

How long were you in ECCO? 4.5 years

When did you graduate? December 2017

Why did you join ECCO? I joined because I was extremely shy and wanted a place to meet people while working toward school.

What did you get out of ECCO? ECCO gave me a family, learning opportunities (which proved to be painful and absolutely worth it), as well as a comfort in the unknown. Without ECCO, I would have dropped out after my first semester and moved back to my security blanket of corn fields. Ultimately, I think ECCO gave me the environment to learn about who I am and ECCO continues to guide me toward where I want to go.

Did you hold any positions while in ECCO? I started as the Multimedia Chair on the Executive Board and ended up being a Co-Chancellor on the Executive Board.

What is your favorite memory in the field (either field placements here, teaching on the job, or whatever job you’re doing)? My favorite memories in the field were those little nuggets of one on one time with kids where they were able to open up and tell me about their lives outside of school. I always loved how those moments helped me to know their perspectives as a student. Ultimately these fond memories have guided me into studying Clinical Mental Health Counseling.

Where are you now? I am one of the ECCO Graduate Assistants! When I'm not in the GA office you'll find me in my Clinical Mental Health Counseling courses!

Anything you’d like to add? I cannot describe how grateful I am to come full circle with ECCO from starting as a quiet first year, to taking undergraduate leadership, to becoming a graduate assistant. I love studying Clinical Mental Health Counseling and my assistantship with ECCO really helps me to merge the aspects I enjoy about teaching and my current professional goals.

45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Wacky Ideas Luncheon from 9/28

by Andrew Bailey The first of three luncheons--talks with the staff about different facets of ECCO, where all members are welcome--was a success! With delicious (free) pizza, delectable people, and da

bottom of page